This Forum Has Been Archived
*Click Here To Visit The NEW Forum*

 

 


Do you use Internet Explorer 7 ??

The completely OFF TOPIC forum :-)

Moderators: angienewton, tknoppe, terrapin719, lisamariemary

Do you use Internet Explorer 7 ??

Postby prajani » Mon Mar 09, 2009 5:52 am

Interested to know how many people use IE7?

Looks like readability is very good in IE7 and my favorite font arial appears crisp and clear?

Just curious to hear a feedback on this?
prajani
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 5:19 am

Postby sct100 » Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:16 am

Nope. I use Firefox. Much less problems and faster.
Last edited by sct100 on Mon Mar 09, 2009 9:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
sct100
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 4:07 pm
Location: Upstate NY

Postby tknoppe » Mon Mar 09, 2009 8:22 am

I have IE 7 on my computer - but do not use it as my primary browser, I use FireFox or Flock.
User avatar
tknoppe
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 11:36 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Postby lisamariemary » Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:53 pm

Nope. I still have it on my computer, but, I mostly use Firefox. I do really like Chrome - used it for a few mos., in fact. But I missed Firefox too much and had to go back to it.
User avatar
lisamariemary
Elite Member
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 10:29 pm
Location: Alabama

Postby angienewton » Mon Mar 09, 2009 9:03 pm

Nope, I don't use it. I still have IE on my computer but haven't upgraded. I use Firefox. Hubby just upgraded to IE 7 and I think so far so good for him.
User avatar
angienewton
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 9:11 pm
Location: IL

Postby wade_watson » Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:43 pm

Well, everybody with Windows XP or later has it, but I think Firefox wins hands-down for security alone. Internet Explorer, in default, will run Active X scripts on the web, which are quite dangerous in the hands of unscrupulous web designers (of which there are many). With Firefox, you don't have the Active X worries and you've got tons of great add-ons. Two add-ons I use in Firefox, Adblock Plus and NoScript allow me to cruise the web largely free of banner ads, flash ads or any scripting that I do not authorize.

I once had to reformat my hard drive after a virus attack by a script (using IE) at as seemingly innocent website (even though I had up-to-date antivirus running). I decided to minimize the chances of that happening again.

--Wade
wade_watson
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:24 am

Postby angienewton » Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:02 pm

Great info, Wade. Thanks for sharing.
User avatar
angienewton
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 9:11 pm
Location: IL

Postby terrapin719 » Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:05 pm

I use Firefox also. The only time I open IE is if I'm checking to see if a page or blog theme works in IE or not, or during Lynn's SSWT webinars on Tuesday and Thursday here! The webinar window automatically opens in IE instead of Firefox, I'm guessing for compatibility reasons.
User avatar
terrapin719
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 2:15 pm
Location: Floating away.....

Postby tknoppe » Wed Mar 11, 2009 4:40 pm

LOL Same here Loretta! Exact same reasons. Too funny!
User avatar
tknoppe
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 11:36 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Postby nar321 » Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:19 pm

Firefox, same reasons as previous two posters. :) But guess I'm lucky as IE doesn't open Lynn's webinars for me or at least I don't think so. IE is also a resource hog
User avatar
nar321
Elite Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 7:43 pm
Location: Seattle, Wa

Postby nhynes57 » Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:45 pm

I use Firefox and Flock. Flock is great for web 2.0 stuff
nhynes57
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 3:20 pm
Location: Ireland

Postby nar321 » Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:17 pm

Agreed about Flock :D
User avatar
nar321
Elite Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 7:43 pm
Location: Seattle, Wa

Postby tknoppe » Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:17 am

The only thing about Flock that I don't like, is that many web forms I've come across don't work in Flock= as in they don't even show up. I'd click a link to go to a page knowing there is to be a form there to sign up for something, and I can't even see the form at all. But I could in FireFox or IE. Odd & frustrating.
User avatar
tknoppe
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 11:36 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Postby terrapin719 » Mon Mar 16, 2009 11:38 am

I've never tried Flock, but I have heard that a lot about forms and certain web elements not showing up.
User avatar
terrapin719
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 2:15 pm
Location: Floating away.....

Postby MommyEnterprises » Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:24 am

I don't use IE. Sometimes it will accidentally open on my computer and its up bogging it down where I have to restart. My computer hates IE.
User avatar
MommyEnterprises
 
Posts: 1562
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 1:23 am
Location: California

Next

Return to Coffee Break!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest