This Forum Has Been Archived
*Click Here To Visit The NEW Forum*

 

 


Godaddy and nameservers

Discuss domain name registration, registrars, hosting companies, how-to's and anything else associated with domain names and web hosting.

Moderators: angienewton, tknoppe, terrapin719, lisamariemary, Russell Portwood

Godaddy and nameservers

Postby RKramkowski » Sat Jul 12, 2008 10:34 pm

I'm working with a person that has a Godaddy hosting acct and I purchased the domain name through one of the sources I use (I never use Godaddy). I want to redirect the domain to Godaddy and asked him for the Godaddy nameservers. He said they didn't tell him what they are. They instead provided him instructions on how to transfer the domain to Godaddy. I do NOT want to do this. Will Godaddy provide the nameservers if he asks? Are there any other options to keep the domain name separate from Godaddy but host on their servers?

Thanks,
Bob
User avatar
RKramkowski
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:21 pm

Postby robert adams » Sun Jul 13, 2008 2:04 am

first, this hopefully will answer your question:
http://help.godaddy.com/article/1361

second, normally people do this the other way.

godaddy is one of the worst hosts in the world, but one of the best domain registrars in the world.

be sure that your client gets linux hosting and not windows hosting.

on godaddy's windows hosting accounts, things like php/mysql based bulletin boards and blogs, do not work.

their tech support is laughable at best.....

I could go on but I won't.

good luck,
robert
User avatar
robert adams
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1338
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 10:07 am

Postby Russell Portwood » Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:57 am

They instead provided him instructions on how to transfer the domain to Godaddy.

Sounds typical of GoDaddy

Will Godaddy provide the nameservers if he asks?

How else could you use their domain registration (if your site were hosted elsewhere)? Of course, they want you to transfer to them but that info is necessary if your site sits somewhere else. My brief relationship with GD included sites elsewhere with GD registration. It may be difficult to get the nameserver info, but can be obtained.

Hope this helps. I will dig a bit more to see what I can find.
Russell

Hmmm - just realized I have the situation backwards.
second, normally people do this the other way.
Yep.
Will see what I can find.
User avatar
Russell Portwood
Elite Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:39 pm

Postby GDHosting » Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:49 pm

It's not at all difficult to obtain the nameservers. The article Robert provided is an excellent resource or you can go directly to this article:
http://help.godaddy.com/article/41

Please don't hesitate to contact our support team if you have additional questions.

Regards,
GDHosting
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:02 pm

Postby robert adams » Tue Jul 15, 2008 1:16 am

ooh, Alica, you have stepped into the lion's den.

robert
User avatar
robert adams
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1338
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 10:07 am

Postby Kit Singleton » Tue Jul 15, 2008 6:53 am

Lol, I don't want this to turn into a "my hosting is better than your hosting" thing but I did want to add my thoughts. I have sites on both GD and on HG.

I haven't run into any trouble with the tech folks at either place. As with any other tech service departments, there can be misunderstandings (mumbles about not being bilingual) and there are newbie techs.

Thankfully my experiences have been good for all of the hosting/tech companies I use.

*swats the lions on the nose with a rolled up newspaper - BACK!*
User avatar
Kit Singleton
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 8:18 am
Location: Georgia

Postby robert adams » Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:08 am

Well, I promise , I won't start a GD bashing rant.

AS many of you know, I do support for phpbb.

One of the issues that comes up a lot on the main phpbb.com support site, is problems with getting phpbb to work on their servers.
There are database issues, email issues, etc. and that is only on their *nix based servers.
phpbb etc. will not run at all on their windows based servers.

And the biggest complaint of all seems to be that to find anyone that knows what they are talking about, requires level 2 support at least.

We always tell people to not even bother with whoever answers the phone, just immediately ask for level 2 support.

anyway, I am done here.

Welcome to the board Alica, we look forward to your input around here. Don't let my rant scare you off.


robert
User avatar
robert adams
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1338
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 10:07 am

Postby GDHosting » Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:56 pm

Robert,
I'm glad to be here and hope that I can provide some assistance!

Good news! PHP 5 is now fully supported on Windows shared hosting accounts running IIS 7, as referenced in this article.

Thanks for all the feedback!


Kit,
Glad to hear your experiences have been good!

Regards,
GDHosting
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:02 pm

Postby Russell Portwood » Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:04 am

Alicia:
Great to have you here, and thanks for helping out! Let me know if there is anything we can do to help you.

While every hosting company has its pluses and minuses, one thing is for sure; if you are willing to enter the "den" to help out it says you and GoDaddy are willing to put yourselves out there to provide service. I admire that.

Again, thanks.

Russell
User avatar
Russell Portwood
Elite Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:39 pm

Postby RKramkowski » Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:56 pm

Thanks for everyone's answers so far. Alicia, is there a way to find out the nameservers if I'm not sure of the date? Of course I could just change them and see if it works and just move through the list until one "sticks". But I'd rather not do that.
User avatar
RKramkowski
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:21 pm

Postby KansasDragon » Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:21 pm

Have you started a support ticket with GoDaddy asking for the name servers?

It should be that simple.

I've done that many times with other hosting services clients use, and I always get a response back within a couple hours.
User avatar
KansasDragon
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 9:45 am
Location: Kansas, USA

Postby RKramkowski » Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:54 am

Hi Barry and Ann,

Problem is that I'm doing this for someone on their hosting account. Any requests I make will go to their default mail address, not mine.


Bob
User avatar
RKramkowski
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:21 pm

Postby KansasDragon » Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:48 am

Then let's change tactics.

If you know the "master domain" go to http://www.domainwhitepages.com put in the master domain name, scroll down, and you should see exactly what you're looking for. :D
User avatar
KansasDragon
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 9:45 am
Location: Kansas, USA

Postby RKramkowski » Fri Jul 18, 2008 12:36 pm

I purchased the master domain so I know all that. I just don't have the visibility into GoDaddy that I need.

Here's the situation today...

I purchase my domains through DJJConverged. I buy all my domains through them since I get a good price. All my websites so far have been hosted at HostGator so I go into my acct at DJJ and set the nameservers to the HostGator domain servers. From there, all is good.

The site I'm working on now is in conjunction with two other people and we are using GoDaddy for the hosting. So the scenario is... I purchased the domain at DJJ and redirect to the HostGator nameservers (we were originally going to host there but for business reasons wanted to keep it separate from my other domains at HG.) On HostGator, I created A records that now point to the hosting at GoDaddy.

To me that seems to be a convoluted way to do things. I want to keep it as clean and simple as possible, particularly since we anticipate moving off GoDaddy in the future. So I want to log into my DJJ acct and replace the HostGator servers withthe GoDaddy nameservers.

So beyond that, I'm trying to understand why I'd use A records or not. Are they an advantage or disadvantage? Particularly in the event we will likely be moving the site. It seems simpler to just let DNS manage it and the subdomains. What impact would using A records have with search engines, split testing, etc. etc.?

Thanks,
Bob
User avatar
RKramkowski
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:21 pm

Postby RKramkowski » Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:12 pm

Hi Alicia,

Unfortunately, it's challenging when I have to go through a relay for info since the GoDaddy acct isn't mine. But I have a general question.

I changed the nameservers at my registrar to the correct GoDaddy nameservers. They confirmed that they are the right ones. But when I go to "manage DNS", I get the following message:

"The domain associated with this hosting account is not registered with your account. Please call customer support."

I had expected to be able to go in and add A records, etc. as needed. Is there another step somewhere that registers the domain so it makes the association from the registrar, to the nameservers, to the directory structure in the hosting acct?

Thanks,
Bob
User avatar
RKramkowski
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:21 pm

Next

Return to Domain Names & Web Hosting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron