This Forum Has Been Archived
*Click Here To Visit The NEW Forum*

 

 


Addon Domains - How to add a new domain name to my account

Discuss domain name registration, registrars, hosting companies, how-to's and anything else associated with domain names and web hosting.

Moderators: angienewton, tknoppe, terrapin719, lisamariemary, Russell Portwood

Postby jacquelynrose » Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:14 pm

NOW IT IS OFFICIALLY FIXED!!!! :D

http://www.jackiesbizblog.com
User avatar
jacquelynrose
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:25 am

Postby jacquelynrose » Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:30 pm

Hmmm how come it won't let me view the domain as a

www? only jackiesbizblog.com not www.jackiesbizblog.com?
User avatar
jacquelynrose
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:25 am

Postby Stacie Bennett » Thu Dec 06, 2007 10:30 am

Jackie,

I believe the answer to that is the way it is set up in WordPress. Try this and see if it works:

1. Go to your WP admin

2. Select OPTIONS -> GENERAL

3. In the field that says "WordPress address (URL):" see if it has the www in the URL. If not add it and it should show up that way.

If this is not the problem post back.
User avatar
Stacie Bennett
Elite Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 4:02 pm

Re: Addon Domains - How to add a new domain name to my accou

Postby karynsolo » Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:34 am

jacquelynrose wrote:How do I add a domain to an existing hosting account? (for a WordPress Blog?)


The best way to do this is to do it as an add on domain, this way you avoid the sub-domain thing such as xyz.co/abc instead it would be typed in as xyz.com.

What is an Addon Domain? An Addon Domain is similar to a subdomain and created in much the same way. An Addon Domain has its own file path, location, and file set that can be used to store a web site, images, documents or anything you want. It is almost like having your own web space for a different domain, but is attached to your main user account. This allows for easier management of the Addon Domain by being integrating and available from your main user account's management system.
User avatar
karynsolo
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 1:06 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Add on Domains

Postby Deltlake1 » Thu Jun 12, 2008 10:18 pm

:D, hi everyone,

I am also having problems with adding on a domain, Lynn.
The new domain has been pointed to Hostgators name servers,
I go to my "c" panel and click on add on domain. I then have
a page with the following:
1. URL of new domain which I fill out.
2. user name/directory/subdomain
when I just input my user name and then drop down to password, everything is fine. I need to input a directory to upload my files to, but when I do that then everything goes haywire. The subdomain I let Hostgator worry about. Example: bill0401/realestate/subdomain.
3. password: not a problem
Or, do I pass on the directory and set that up in "file manager" and in Filezila? :?
User avatar
Deltlake1
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 6:28 pm
Location: Whitesboro, NY

Postby robert adams » Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:36 am

I haven't done this at hostgator, however, from your description, it seems that you have to actually create a subdomain name where is says "bill0401/realestate/subdomain"
in otherwords, if your new domain name is bill.com,

then you have to put in something like:
bill0401/realestate/bill

Like I said, I have no idea how hostgator's system works for this.

Your best course of action would be to contact their support, it is very good and they should help you get it all setup very quickly.

robert
User avatar
robert adams
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1338
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 10:07 am

Previous

Return to Domain Names & Web Hosting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron