This Forum Has Been Archived
*Click Here To Visit The NEW Forum*

 

 


Addon Domains - How to add a new domain name to my account

Discuss domain name registration, registrars, hosting companies, how-to's and anything else associated with domain names and web hosting.

Moderators: angienewton, tknoppe, terrapin719, lisamariemary, Russell Portwood

Addon Domains - How to add a new domain name to my account

Postby jacquelynrose » Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:51 am

How do I add a domain to an existing hosting account? (for a WordPress Blog?)
User avatar
jacquelynrose
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:25 am

Postby Jim Guinn » Sun Dec 02, 2007 9:08 am

From your domain name control panel choose "forward". Type in the full URL to the folder you have your new site in on your hosting account....something like http://www.myhostingaccount.com/newsite.

That will forward the domain to the correct folder, but the URL in the viewer's address bar will look exactly like... http://www.myhostingaccount.com/newsite, so you should also "mask" the forward. Masking a forward will make the forward look like anything you want to the viewer....example... http://www.mynewsite.com

Jim
User avatar
Jim Guinn
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 7:28 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Postby jacquelynrose » Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:51 pm

Thank you

But I have Paid Hosting for another domain on this Host and I want to add another one, I do not want to forward it...
User avatar
jacquelynrose
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:25 am

Postby bs28723 » Sun Dec 02, 2007 9:10 pm

Jackie,

First, you have to verify that your account will allow add-on domains. You can check this in the cpanel. Look in the left column under general account info. It should have a line that says Addon Domains 0/2 or something like this. Make sure it does not say 0/0, which means you can't create add-on domains with this account. You can talk to your hosting company and they will be glad to add this for a small fee :( , or you can upgrade you account.

Assuming you can add at least 1 addon domain, then you need to first click on subdomains button and add a subdomain. The domain or directory where you plan to install wordpress can be called anything. It does not have to match your domain, but it might help you if you setup multiple domains to have them close.

Now, click on the addon domains icon in cpanel and enter your new domain name, for "username/subdomain name:" put in the subdomain you created above and give it a password.

Click add. That should do it.
Except for the Name server changes that I mentioned in my reply to your other thread.

Let me know if you have more problems.
bs28723
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 11:09 pm
Location: GA, USA

Postby Lynn Terry » Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:11 am

Jackie,

If I remember correctly, you are using HostGator. First, go to your domain registrar (like GoDaddy if thats what you used) and manage the domain. Change the nameservers to HostGator's custom nameservers. If you need help with this step, let me know.

Next, log in to your HostGator cpanel. Click Addon Domains there on the main page (top right). All you do is tell it the domain name, and create a user name & password, then click "add domain!"

Its that simple :D
User avatar
Lynn Terry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14504
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 9:01 am
Location: TN, USA

Postby Lynn Terry » Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:14 am

p.s. I changed the title of your thread so I would recognize it in the subject of the email if I get a notification that you replied :)
User avatar
Lynn Terry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14504
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 9:01 am
Location: TN, USA

Postby jacquelynrose » Tue Dec 04, 2007 12:02 am

Thanks it did work....kind of...

But I still have jackiesbizblog.jackiescruisetips.com and I want it to be a single domain jackiesbizblog pointing to my hosted wordpress...ugh :(
User avatar
jacquelynrose
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:25 am

Postby Lynn Terry » Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:17 am

Use HostGator's online support - they'll help you out in a jiffy ;)
User avatar
Lynn Terry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14504
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 9:01 am
Location: TN, USA

Postby Jim Guinn » Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:48 am

To do that, you have to own the domain jackiesbizblog.com

Once you do, you can forward it to jackiesbizblog.jackiescruisetips.com. If you mask it as well, then people will type jackiesbizblog.com and they will see jackiesbizblog.com, not jackiesbizblog.jackiescruisetips.com.

Jim
User avatar
Jim Guinn
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 7:28 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Postby Lynn Terry » Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:22 pm

Yeah but this is an addon domain - all you have to do is change the nameservers, then add the addon domain in cpanel...

Did you contact HostGator? If so, what did they say?
User avatar
Lynn Terry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14504
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 9:01 am
Location: TN, USA

Postby jacquelynrose » Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:58 pm

I own the domain...

I will do it tonight Lynn, sigh....oh this has taken me over a week!
User avatar
jacquelynrose
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:25 am

Postby Jim Guinn » Wed Dec 05, 2007 9:01 am

Lynn Terry wrote:Yeah but this is an addon domain - all you have to do is change the nameservers, then add the addon domain in cpanel...

Did you contact HostGator? If so, what did they say?


Now, I am a little confused by what you said, Lynn...and, I have done this before. If Jackie has an addon (her blog), and the blog is in a folder within her main account (jackiescruisetips.com), just changing the nameservers won't work. That will just make the main site on her account show up. Doesn't she have to forward the domain to the specific folder?

Jim
User avatar
Jim Guinn
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 7:28 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Postby Lynn Terry » Wed Dec 05, 2007 1:59 pm

Nope. Hostgator handles all that when you submit the Addon Domain. It sets up a subdomain, redirects, etc. Its a simple process.
User avatar
Lynn Terry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14504
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 9:01 am
Location: TN, USA

Postby Jim Guinn » Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:09 pm

I didn't know they handled it, and I have been using them for 3 years. :oops: After I set up the addon, I always redirect from my GoDaddy domain reseller panel. Thanks for straightening me out!

Jim
User avatar
Jim Guinn
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 7:28 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Postby jacquelynrose » Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:01 pm

Well Lynn, I spoke to Support and I realized I am a dork!

I did do the nameservers thing but I used ns1hostgator.com and not my own...now I am embarrassed!
User avatar
jacquelynrose
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:25 am

Next

Return to Domain Names & Web Hosting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron