This Forum Has Been Archived
*Click Here To Visit The NEW Forum*

 

 


Need Captcha Code for phpbb2 forum

Join us here to discuss community-based websites or business-models. Scripts, resources, marketing, management, profitability & more...

Moderators: angienewton, tknoppe, terrapin719, lisamariemary

Need Captcha Code for phpbb2 forum

Postby MommyEnterprises » Sat Oct 27, 2007 8:30 pm

My forum doesn't have a captcha code. Is this part of the theme or how can I add this?
User avatar
MommyEnterprises
 
Posts: 1562
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 1:23 am
Location: California

Postby MommyEnterprises » Sun Oct 28, 2007 6:52 pm

I switched my forum template back to the subsilver default and see the option for the Captcha code is there. So I am guessing I will have to find a theme/template that shows this option in the admin panel?
User avatar
MommyEnterprises
 
Posts: 1562
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 1:23 am
Location: California

Postby robert adams » Sun Oct 28, 2007 8:32 pm

Hi, don't bother. The captcha code no longer stops the spammer bots from registering. They can read it using OCR in their bot scripts.

You can install this MOD and completely stop all the register bots:
RAC

it is very simple to install. I can help if you need it.

robert
User avatar
robert adams
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1338
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 10:07 am

Postby robert adams » Sun Oct 28, 2007 8:33 pm

If you would like to make it work in your style anyway, just tell me what style you are using and I can give you instructions.

robert
User avatar
robert adams
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1338
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 10:07 am

Postby Lynn Terry » Thu Nov 01, 2007 7:08 am

Can you install it for me? :D
User avatar
Lynn Terry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14504
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 9:01 am
Location: TN, USA

Postby Mommyland » Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:58 pm

Thanks for the tips I was wondering too :D
User avatar
Mommyland
Elite Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 6:30 pm

Postby CorpRebel » Thu Nov 01, 2007 8:54 pm

I don't think it's the theme, it's the version.

All I have ever done is is update the phpBB version and it already has "captcha" in the newer versions. You can either enable it or not. It's NOT a theme thing. At least I can throw a bunch of themes in it and they all have to use the "captcha" since I've enabled it.

OR did I miss something, Robert?

But I get YOUR point, Robert.

THANX!

Rick Wilson aka CorpRebel 8)
User avatar
CorpRebel
 
Posts: 934
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2003 8:24 pm
Location: Newport, Rhode Island USA

Postby robert adams » Sun Nov 04, 2007 3:30 am

in order for the captcha to display in the registration page, the correct code for it has to be in the template files of whatever style/template you are using.

many of the older styles, do not have the needed code in the registration file or in the admin panel to be able to turn it on.

the captcha ( correct name is visual confirmation )
was implemented around version 2.0.12 If I remember correctly.

robert
User avatar
robert adams
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1338
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 10:07 am


Return to Portals, Forums & Membership Sites

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron