This Forum Has Been Archived
*Click Here To Visit The NEW Forum*

What to charge?

Writing articles for free publicity, freelance writing, writing books, copywriting, editing and proofreading. If you write, or would like to, join us here in the Writer's Corner.

Moderators: angienewton, tknoppe, terrapin719, lisamariemary, DebGallardo

What to charge?

Postby expatana » Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:32 am

Hi,

I'm in negotiation formy first freelance writing gig, for a webmaster in a field I'm mostly unfamiliar with who wants a "ghostwriter" to re-do his 86-page training manual. The manual is already written with all the info seemingly in the right place. What he really needs is not a ghostwriter per se but a good proofreader/editor and someone who's good with formatting in Word.

I'm a very experienced editor but I'm only about 80% on Word, not quite enough to do a paid job like this, as he wants things like professional Table of Contents done right, etc.

Since this is my first job, I have NO IDEA how to tell him it's not really a ghostwriting job. A ghostwriter writes something from scratch from notes/research done by the client. This document is all written.

Mostly, I have no idea what to charge him.

Any ideas on how I can find out before the end of this week? Also, I know I've no right to make a client wait for my own learning curve. This job will take me longer than one done by someone who knows Word in and out ...

Thanks a mint,
Ana
expatana

Postby Lynn Terry » Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:48 am

Can you not turn down the offer, and look for offers more suited to your expertise?
Lynn Terry
Site Admin

Postby Jim Guinn » Wed Oct 17, 2007 10:50 am

Don't know if it will help....but, I do proofreading/editing (in addition to ghostwriting) for a couple of online companies. I charge $75 per hour.

If my lack of expertise or technical knowledge "slows me down" on a particular document or project, I usually charge 1 hour for every 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 hour I work to compensate.

Jim