This Forum Has Been Archived
*Click Here To Visit The NEW Forum*

 

 


Help

Newbies are welcome! Join us here to discuss anything related to getting started with your first eBiz - or even a new eBiz model. From ideas to implementation. If you've got questions, ask them here! -- NOTE: topics in this section may get moved to more appropriate categories at some point. If you are unsure where to post your question, feel free to post it here!

Moderators: angienewton, Al Smith, tknoppe, terrapin719, lisamariemary

Help

Postby jazzi480 » Tue May 05, 2009 9:15 am

Hi, My name is LeeAnn,
New to this forum, in novenber we bought a website, members of ammonzon aff., adsence, have tried to add to site but can't seem to get the code from one place to site?????
Also trying to increase traffic.
we started this in nov when hubby lost job, he is back to work lots of hours so now i'm trying to get this going,
jazzi480
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 9:16 am
Location: phoenix

Postby tknoppe » Tue May 05, 2009 10:37 am

Hi LeeAnn - welcome to SSWT. Is your site designed in plan html coding, or are you using a system, like WordPress for your site?

To put ad coding on your site, you need to access the html part and paste the coding into there. Without knowing the system your site is on, it's hard to get more specific than that. If you can provide a few more details - perhaps I can offer more direction. :)
User avatar
tknoppe
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 11:36 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Postby jazzi480 » Tue May 05, 2009 1:53 pm

tracie
thanks for the reply, the site is in html, have tried to understand how to open files on cpanel but don't seem to understand, it is probably very easy but I just don't seem to get it
jazzi480
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 9:16 am
Location: phoenix

Postby jazzi480 » Tue May 05, 2009 3:54 pm

when you paste in the code does the change occur immeadiatly or ?????
jazzi480
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 9:16 am
Location: phoenix

Postby lyle » Tue May 05, 2009 8:37 pm

jazzi480 wrote:tracie
thanks for the reply, the site is in html, have tried to understand how to open files on cpanel but don't seem to understand, it is probably very easy but I just don't seem to get it


Hi LeeAnn. You may need an HTML editor program to copy and paste the adsense onto your page(s). On one of your sites in your sig you already have the adsense code. What are you using to create your web pages? All the best.

Lyle
User avatar
lyle
Elite Member
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec

Postby jazzi480 » Wed May 06, 2009 9:24 am

we bought the website already created, hosted with eprohosted, using control panel and adsence to try and add to site. bestpet is the site we own the other is affiliate.
Hope to build a new affilate site when I firgure out problem
jazzi480
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 9:16 am
Location: phoenix

Postby terrapin719 » Wed May 06, 2009 1:06 pm

You generally need an html editor to open the files on your computer, edit them, and then upload the new version to your host.

You can use Notepad, Frontpage, Coffee Cup HTML, Sea Monkey Composer, etc....
User avatar
terrapin719
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 2:15 pm
Location: Floating away.....

Postby jazzi480 » Thu May 07, 2009 8:31 pm

found the edit for website, I think it is a major learning curve for me, not very educated in computers, picked up some books from library. I'm determined to get this figured out!!!
jazzi480
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 9:16 am
Location: phoenix

Postby jazzi480 » Thu May 07, 2009 8:32 pm

thanks for all your help everyone
jazzi480
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 9:16 am
Location: phoenix

Postby lyle » Thu May 07, 2009 9:46 pm

jazzi480 wrote:found the edit for website, I think it is a major learning curve for me, not very educated in computers, picked up some books from library. I'm determined to get this figured out!!!


Hey LeeAnne. You know what the cool things is? You found the edit button! You had an issue that needed resolving and you found a way to take care of it...:) That's a HUGE step! Plus you've taken the initiative and gotten books from the library. Keep on going like that and you'll be teaching us a few things in no time...:) Take care and all the best towards your success.

Lyle
User avatar
lyle
Elite Member
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec

Postby tknoppe » Fri May 08, 2009 5:04 am

Sorry LeeAnn - did not get back here to answer your questions, but see that others came to help you.

cpanel does have a crude html editor built-in. It's fair in how it functions. It will get you into the files so you can change things, but if you can get a better editor than that, I would.

The CoffeeCup html editor is pretty good - and they do have a free version:
http://www.coffeecup.com/free-editor/

There are bazillions of html editors, not all are good - but I have used CoffeeCup years ago - and found it pretty easy to use.

Hope that helps you. :)
User avatar
tknoppe
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 11:36 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Postby terrapin719 » Fri May 08, 2009 8:41 am

If there's anything else we can do to help you get things going just give us a shout. I hope you're seeing some progress.
User avatar
terrapin719
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 2:15 pm
Location: Floating away.....


Return to Getting Started - Learning the Basics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron