This Forum Has Been Archived
*Click Here To Visit The NEW Forum*

 

 


Linking to image only (Amazon product)

Join us here to discuss affiliate marketing in detail - from how to choose programs, how to promote programs, content-based websites, product-based websites and more...

Moderators: angienewton, tknoppe, terrapin719, lisamariemary

Linking to image only (Amazon product)

Postby angienewton » Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

I am feeling like a dunce right about now but I just can't figure out how to make this work.

I'm trying to take a product from Amazon and use the image only. So it says to right click and save target as. OK, that's fine, it says save the image to my server and then cut and paste the html code into your page. But I can't figure out how to do that on my WP blog.

Am I making sense? It's late but I have been trying to figure this out for a few days and I'm not sure what my problem is.

Thanks for any help you can provide!
User avatar
angienewton
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 9:11 pm
Location: IL

Postby tknoppe » Wed Mar 25, 2009 8:06 am

Save the image from Amazon. In your post on your blog, click to insert an image, then browse to find the saved image from Amazon and where it shows the line where you can link the image you will insert your Amazon affiliate link for this product.

Here's where you find your Amazon affiliate link from the Associates Central where you create your affiliate links for the products. An example below - you will see a section of code that looks like this:

Code: Select all
<a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0316058432?ie=UTF8&tag=tracschricott-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=0316058432">


You only need to copy and paste this part into the line for the image you are inserting:

Code: Select all
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0316058432?ie=UTF8&tag=tracschricott-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=0316058432


You can also try the Amazon Reloaded plugin, might make it all easier for you.
User avatar
tknoppe
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 11:36 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Postby angienewton » Wed Mar 25, 2009 12:48 pm

Thanks so much Traci! I will try the first one.

I would like to have that plug in sometime but right now I need to update to the new version and I have issues with my plugin's. Couldn't tell you what those issues are but I gave up a while back when an upgrade didn't work and now I can't remember what's wrong with my blog LOL
User avatar
angienewton
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 9:11 pm
Location: IL

Postby lisamariemary » Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:57 pm

Dude!!! Angie - I mess that up ALL the time! I'm serious - ask Loretta - hahaha! I've asked her fiftyhundredmillion times!

I keep trying to do it myself, without asking her - and I keep forgetting how! Drives me batty! (And maybe her, too!) ;)

Traci - I've heard of that before - think I'm gonna try it! Give poor Retta a break! So thank you! And she thanks you! ;)
User avatar
lisamariemary
Elite Member
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 10:29 pm
Location: Alabama

Postby angienewton » Thu Mar 26, 2009 12:24 pm

OK, we'll see if it works tomorrow when my Friday tip posts LOL Thanks so much again for your help.

Lisa Marie: You are so not alone when it comes to forgetting how to do some of these things.
User avatar
angienewton
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 9:11 pm
Location: IL

Postby terrapin719 » Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:51 pm

LOL I don't mind :-p I usually end up tossing the image into photobucket and making my link that way, I don't like the WP image upload thingy that much.

I've never tried the plugin that Traci mentioned, might have to go check it out now! I love plugins :)
User avatar
terrapin719
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 2:15 pm
Location: Floating away.....

Postby lisamariemary » Thu Mar 26, 2009 4:08 pm

I got it last night - it's really cool! As is 2.7 with it's automatic plugin magical goodnessss!!!!! :D
User avatar
lisamariemary
Elite Member
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 10:29 pm
Location: Alabama

Postby angienewton » Thu Mar 26, 2009 8:54 pm

Oh boy, I so need to get 2.7 but I'm so afraid as usual to update it and everything LOL
User avatar
angienewton
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 9:11 pm
Location: IL

Postby tknoppe » Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:09 am

What version are you running Angie? Who is your web host?
User avatar
tknoppe
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 11:36 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Postby terrapin719 » Fri Mar 27, 2009 11:20 am

angienewton wrote:Oh boy, I so need to get 2.7 but I'm so afraid as usual to update it and everything LOL


Don't be scared! It's not bad. I've done a bunch of upgrades to 2.7 for my own sites and for clients and it's gone smoothly almost every time. I say almost because at first when 2.7 was released there was some problems with logging in after updating, but they seem to have fixed that bug.
User avatar
terrapin719
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 2:15 pm
Location: Floating away.....

Postby angienewton » Fri Mar 27, 2009 12:07 pm

tknoppe wrote:What version are you running Angie? Who is your web host?


Version 2.6.2 and Host Gator
User avatar
angienewton
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 9:11 pm
Location: IL

Postby angienewton » Fri Mar 27, 2009 12:09 pm

terrapin719 wrote:Don't be scared! It's not bad. I've done a bunch of upgrades to 2.7 for my own sites and for clients and it's gone smoothly almost every time. I say almost because at first when 2.7 was released there was some problems with logging in after updating, but they seem to have fixed that bug.


Thanks Loretta! I think I will try it again but turn off all my plugin's first.
User avatar
angienewton
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 9:11 pm
Location: IL

Postby tknoppe » Fri Mar 27, 2009 12:30 pm

Use the wp automatic upgrade plugin. Here's my video on it: http://genesisblogging.com/2008/12/wp-a ... -tutorial/
User avatar
tknoppe
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 11:36 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Postby terrapin719 » Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:20 pm

angienewton wrote:I think I will try it again but turn off all my plugin's first.


Yes, you're always supposed to turn off your plugins when you upgrade.

Step 1. Backup your blog.
Step 2. Deactivate all plugins!
User avatar
terrapin719
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 2:15 pm
Location: Floating away.....

Postby angienewton » Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:55 pm

Thank you ladies. I will have to get that done. As for backup, I just click on backup in WP correct? Or is there a better way? I have done all of this twice before but have forgotten how to do it all (shhh LisaMarie hee hee)
User avatar
angienewton
Elite Member
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 9:11 pm
Location: IL

Next

Return to Affiliate Marketing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron